CVE-2020-2754: Canonical Ubuntu Linux

Low severity, CVSS 3.7. EPSS: 4.1% chance of exploitation in the next 30 days.

Vulnerability in the Java SE, Java SE Embedded product of Oracle Java SE (component: Scripting). Supported versions that are affected are Java SE: 8u241, 11.0.6 and 14; Java SE Embedded: 8u241. Difficult to exploit vulnerability allows unauthenticated attacker with network access via multiple protocols to compromise Java SE, Java SE Embedded. Successful attacks of this vulnerability can result in unauthorized ability to cause a partial denial of service (partial DOS) of Java SE, Java SE Embedded. Note: Applies to client and server deployment of Java. This vulnerability can be exploited through sandboxed Java Web Start applications and sandboxed Java applets. It can also be exploited by supplying data to APIs in the specified Component without using sandboxed Java Web Start applications or sandboxed Java applets, such as through a web service. CVSS 3.0 Base Score 3.7 (Availability impacts). CVSS Vector: (CVSS:3.0/AV:N/AC:H/PR:N/UI:N/S:U/C:N/I:N/A:L).

Affected products

  • Canonical Ubuntu Linux: version 16.04 only; version 18.04 only; version 19.10 only
  • Debian Debian Linux: version 9.0 only; version 10.0 only
  • Fedoraproject Fedora: version 30 only; version 31 only; version 32 only
  • McAfee Epolicy Orchestrator: version 5.9.0 only; version 5.9.1 only; version 5.10.0 only
  • Netapp Active Iq Unified Manager: from 7.3; from 9.5
  • Netapp E-Series Santricity OS Controller: from 11.0.0, up to and including 11.60.1
  • Netapp Snapmanager: affected versions not specified
  • Netapp Storagegrid: from 9.0.0, up to and including 9.0.4; affected versions not specified
  • Opensuse Leap: version 15.1 only; version 15.2 only
  • Oracle JDK: version 1.8.0 only; version 11.0.6 only; version 14.0.0 only
  • Oracle JRE: version 1.8.0 only; version 11.0.6 only; version 14.0.0 only
  • Oracle Openjdk: from 11, up to and including 11.0.6; from 13, up to and including 13.0.2; version 7 only; version 8 only; version 14 only

Published 2020-04-15. Last modified 2026-06-17.